Supplier Diversity

MPHA strongly encourages the participation of  HUD Section 3 certified businesses, as well as minority-owned and women-owned business enterprises.

HUD Section 3 Businesses and Regulations

Section 3 is part of the Housing and Urban Development Act of 1968 with the purpose of ensuring employment, training, contracting and other economic development opportunities for low income persons when federal dollars are expended. Federal law requires that “to the greatest extent feasible” at least 10% of the total dollar amount of all construction contracts and 3% non-construction contracts be awarded to certified Section 3 businesses.

A business can be Section 3 certified if it meets one of three criteria:

  • It is owned 51 percent or more by a Section 3 qualified person living in the 13 county metro area;
  • 30 percent or more of the permanent, full-time employees of the business are Section 3 eligible persons living in the 13 county metro area;
  • The business can provide evidence of a commitment to subcontract at least 25% of its total contract award to a priority 1 or priority 2 Section 3 business.

Note: If you subcontract to a Category 4C Section 3 business, this business must identify a Category 4A or Category 4B Section 3 business prior to submission of bid indicating that 25% or more of the total contract award will be given to the Category 4A or Category 4B Section 3 business for a particular contract. Any Category 4C Section 3 business who does not identify and contract with a Category 4A or Category 4B Section 3 business will lose its Section 3 status in addition to possibly losing future contracts with the MPHA.

Section 3 Business Self-Certification Form

Section 3 Business Certification Procedures

Section 3 Clause

Types of Contracting Opportunities

_DSC0004  _DSC0032

Painting, Excavating, General Contracting, Electrical, Plumbing, Cement/Masonry, Drywall, Demolition, Operating engineering, Bricklaying, Flooring, Landscaping, Mechanical, Final Cleaning, etc.

Minority- and women-owned businesses

MPHA’s policy is to endeavor to award a fair share of contracts to small, woman-owned (WBE), and minority-owned (MBE) enterprises. Affirmative steps are taken to help ensure that such businesses are utilized, when possible, as sources of supplies, equipment, construction and other services by:

  • Including qualified small, WBEs, and MBEs on solicitation lists;
  • Ensuring that small, WBEs, and MBEs are solicited whenever they are potential sources;
  • When feasible, dividing total requirements into smaller tasks or quantities in order to permit maximum participation by small, WBEs, and MBEs;
  • Requiring the prime contractor to take the aforestated affirmative steps whenever subcontracts are to be let.

MPHA has established goals which are to be seriously pursued relative to all MPHA procurement activities. Those goals are:

  • 7% WBE participation,
  • 20% MBE participation, and
  • 10% Section 3 participation

MPHA recognizes all official certifying entities within the State of Minnesota as appropriate to certifying an individual/business as a small, WBE, or MBE.

Supplier Diversity Seminars

MPHA periodically conducts Supplier Diversity Seminars where various topics on building your business are presented by select speakers. Presentations on conducting business with MPHA are also featured. This is a great opportunity for networking. For information regarding the Seminars, please contact our Procurement Department at (612) 342-1424.

Contact Us

For further information on the MPHA Section 3 Program or how to certify your business as a Section 3 business or to obtain a certified Section 3 business listing, contact the Procurement Department at 612-342-1424.

*A Section 3 resident is defined by HUD Regulation 24 CFR 135 – Priority order: (1) being a resident of public housing living in the building where work is being performed; (2) a resident of public housing living in properties located in the City of Minneapolis; (3) a HUD Youthbuild Participant; and (4) a low income person living in the 13-County Twin Cities Metro Area whose income falls within the 80% median income guidelines for the area.